Aam Aadmi Party

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is an Indian political party, officially launched on 26 November 2012. It came into existence following differences between the activists Arvind Kejriwal and Anna Hazare regarding whether or not to politicize the popular India Against Corruption movement that had been demanding a Jan Lokpal Bill since 2011. Hazare preferred that the movement should remain politically unaligned while Kejriwal felt the failure of the agitation route necessitated a direct political involvement.
The AAP has led several protests since its formation. Among these was a campaign against an alleged nexus between government and private corporations relating to price rises for electricity and water in Delhi. Another saw the party demanding justice for victims of sexual harassment and rape, including the introduction of a stronger anti-rape law. The party’s first electoral test was in the 2013 Delhi legislative assembly election, from which it emerged as the second-largest party, winning 28 of the 70 seats. With no party obtaining an overall majority, the AAP formed a minority government with conditional support from the Indian National Congress.

The origin of the AAP can be traced to a difference of opinion between Arvind Kejriwal and Anna Hazare, social activists who had both been involved in Team Anna, a strand of the anti-corruption movement for Jan Lokpal Bill that had gained momentum in India during 2011 and 2012. Hazare had wanted to keep the movement politically neutral but Kejriwal considered that direct involvement in politics was necessary because attempts to obtain progress regarding the Jan Lokpal Bill through talks with existing political parties had, in his opinion, achieved nothing. A survey conducted by the India Against Corruption organisation using social networking services had indicated that there was wide support for politicization.

Hazare and Kejriwal agreed on 19 September 2012 that their differences regarding a role in politics were irreconcilable. Kejriwal had support from some anti-corruption movement activists, such as Prashant Bhushan and Shanti Bhushan, but was opposed by others such as Kiran Bedi and Santosh Hegde. On 2 October, Kejriwal announced that he was forming a political party and that he intended the formal launch to be on 26 November, coinciding with the anniversary of India’s adoption of its constitution in 1949.

The party’s name reflects the phrase Aam Aadmi, or “common man”, whose interests Kejriwal proposed to represent. A party constitution was adopted on 24 November 2012, when a National Council comprising 320 people and a National Executive of 23 were also formed. Both the Council and the Executive were expected to have more members in due course, with the intention being that all districts and all classes of people would have a voice. Various committees were to be formed to draft proposals for adoption by the party in a process that was expected to take several months. Although one aim was to limit nepotism, there were complaints at this initial meeting that the selection of people invited to attend was itself an example of such practices The party was formally launched in Delhi on 26 November and in March 2013 it was registered as a political party by the Election Commission of India.

Official Website : http://www.aamaadmiparty.org/

Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) Maharashtra Candidate List for Loksabha Election 2014:

AhmednagarDeepali Sayed
AkolaAjay Panjabrao Hinglekar
AmravatiBhawna Bhavesh Vasnik
AurangabadSubash Lomte
BaramatiIPS Khopade
BeedNandu Madhav
Bhandara-GondiyaPrashant Mishra
BhiwandiJalaluddin Ansari
BuldhanaSudhir Surve
ChandrapurWamanrao Sudaishirao
DhuleAnsari Nihal Ahmed Mohammed Haroon
DindoriDnyaneshwar Damu Mali
Gadchiroli-ChimurDr. Rameshkumar Baburoaji Gajbe
HatkanangleRaghunath Dada Patil
HingoliVithal Namdeorao Kadam
JalgaonSangram Gokulsingh Patil
JalnaDeelip Mhaske
KalyanNaresh Thakur
KolahpurNarain Gundu Powar
LaturDeepratna Nilangekar
MadhaSavita Shinde
MavalMaruti Sahebraw Bhapkar
Mumbai NorthSatish Jain
Mumbai North CentralPhiroze Palkiwala
Mumbai North EastMedha Patkhar
Mumbai North WestMayank Gandhi
Mumbai SouthMeera Sanyal
Mumbai South CentralSundar Balakrishnan
NagpurAnjali Damania
NandedNarendra Singh Granthi
NandurbarValvi Virendra
NashikVijay Baliram Pandhare
OsmanabadVikram Salve
PalgharPandhurang Jethya Pardhi
ParbhaniSalma Kulkarni
PuneSubash Ware
RaigadDr Sanjay Apranti
RamtekPratap Goswami
Ratnagiri–SindhudurgAbhijit Hegshete
RAVERRajiv Sharma
SangliSameena Abdulmajid Khan
ShirdiNitin Udmale
ShirurJudge Nikam
SolapurLalit Babar
ThaneSanjeev Sane
WardhaMd. Alim Patel
Yavatmal-WashimNaresh Rathod